City Council


  • 9:00 am (unless noted otherwise)
  • First and Third Tuesday of each month
  • Gillespie County Law Enforcement Center
    1601 East Main Street
    Fredericksburg, TX 78624 (unless noted otherwise)


Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.

View All

Minutes are also available following approval.

View All
  • Jeryl Hoover, Mayor
    Term Expires: May 2024
  • Sharon Joseph, Council Member
    Term Expires: May 2023
  • Emily Kirchner, Council Member
    Term Expires: May 2024
  • Tony Klein, Council Member
    Term Expires: May 2024
  • Bobby Watson, Council Member (Mayor Pro Tem)
    Term Expires: May 2023

Additional Information


The City Council shall meet regularly at least once in every month pursuant to section 3.10 of the Home-Rule Charter. The council shall conduct its regular meetings on the first and third Monday of each month. If this schedule conflicts with the observance of a state or federal holiday, or for any majority vote of those members present and voting, the City Council may change the date of a meeting provided adequate notice of the change is provided.

Member Selection & Terms
As per the Home Rule Charter, adopted by the citizens of Fredericksburg in 1991, the legislative and governing body of the City of Fredericksburg consists of a mayor and four council members. They are elected from the city at large. The term for the mayor and council members is two years. No mayor or council member may serve more than four consecutive two year terms in the same office. The terms of the council members are staggered so that two members are elected to a regular term each year.

Each member of the City Council must be a resident citizen of the City of Fredericksburg and have been so for a period of not less than 12 months immediately preceding his/her election. Each member must also be a qualified voter of the State of Texas and shall not be indebted to the City of Fredericksburg.

Closed / executive sessions may be called by the mayor or by two or more council members for any purpose specifically authorized by state law. Any allowed subject matter deliberated in the closed / executive session will be voted once the council reconvenes into the public session of the council meeting.

Additional Meetings
Special meetings may be on the call of the mayor or two council members and whenever practicable upon not less than 12 hours notice to each council member, provided, however, that all meetings shall be open to the public, except for closed and/or executive meetings and sessions as provided and authorized by the Statutes of the State of Texas, and written public notice thereof given as required by the Statutes of the State of Texas.

Meeting Requirements
State law prescribes several specific requirements for council meetings:
  • A quorum, three members of the council, be present for the transaction of business
  • Any question before the council be decided by majority vote of the members present and voting, except where the law requires more than a simple majority.
  • The mayor always presides, if present
  • Every meeting of the City Council must be conducted in accordance with Chapter 551 of the Government Code, the Texas Open Meetings Act. Elements of requirements include written notice of the date, hour, and location of every Council meeting, together with an agenda specifically describing all of the items to be considered, be posted 72 hours in advance of such meeting on a bulletin board in City Hall accessible to the public day and night. The Open Meetings Act provides a few exceptions such as emergency or urgent public necessity and closed / executive session purposes